Leftovers!

I love having leftovers – one less meal to cook.  And I really hate wasting food.  Matt (my bf) and I recently had a boatload (well, a tupperware load) of rice left from our dinner the other night.  So I looked up some recipes for leftover rice.   Here are my favorites from about.com:

Rice Pudding:  Super easy.  Mix milk, eggs, sugar, vanilla together and toss it in the oven.  It takes about 30 mins total.

Rice and Bean Burritos:  This didn’t even occur to me until I saw it.  Basically heat up the beans and rice, roll it up and eat it.  You can also add garlic, veggies, guacamole, sour cream, cilantro…

Rice Soup:  This is what we made.  Basically, we sauteed some onions, garlic, cilantro, carrots, peas, and carrots.  Then we put in 3 cans of veggie stock and a cup of rice.  Let simmer for 20 mins.  Instant, delicious meal.

If I was more ambitious, I would totally make grape leaves or the rice quiche – but naaaahhhhhh.

CheapTip:  If I have Chinese food, I always take the extra rice home.  It’ll save you time and you might get a second delicious meal out of it.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Uncategorized

One response to “Leftovers!

  1. Marcella Hammond

    I like to make fried rice out of leftover rice. Get the wok nice and hot, scramble a couple eggs, set them aside. Stir fry any veggies and tofu or leftover meat, set aside. Dump the rice in the wok, stir with sesame oil and soy sauce. Mix it all together and serve. It’s quick, cheap and filling. And then there’s always rice omelettes (see the movie Tampopo for instructions.)

Leave a Reply

